January 31, 2014

Horizon League tabs StatMonitr for 2014 Basketball Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- The Horizon League and StatBroadcast announced today that the conference will use the StatMonitr media stats system at its 2014 Basketball Championships.

Founded in 1979, the Horizon League is a Division I collegiate athletic conference that current has nine members located in the Midwestern states, including Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio and Indiana. Best known for its men's basketball teams, it is one of the top performing conferences in men's basketball RPI and is the only non-BCS conference to have won at least one game in seven of the last eight NCAA Tournaments and in 11 of the last 15 tournaments. The Horizon League has also put teams in the Sweet Sixteen in five of the last ten years, including four appearances by former member Butler, who advanced twice to the NCAA Championship Game.

The Horizon League men's basketball tournament will take place March 4 - 11, 2014 with the women's tournament following March 10 - 16. Both tournaments will take place on campus sites according to seeding and the tournament winner will receive the league's bid to the NCAA Tournament.

- - - -