October 4, 2012

StatBroadcast tabbed for the 2013 Pac 12 Men's Basketball Tournament

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- StatBroadcast and the Pac 12 Conference reached agreement today to use StatBroadcast's services and technologies at the 2013 Pac 12 Men's Basketball Tournament. The tournament will, for the first time, be held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada from March 13 - 16, 2013. StatBroadcast will be providing its media stats service, stat monitors and on-site support.

The Pacific-12 Conference is one of the six major conferences and operates in the western half of the country. Originally founded in 1915, the Pac 12's membership are made up primarily of flagship Research-I universities. The conference sponsors 22 varsity sports and has one more NCAA National Team Championships than any other conference in history (443). The Pac 12's membership includes current StatBroadcast partners the University of Arizona, Arizona State University and the University of Utah, along with UC Berkeley, Colorado, Orregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Washington and Washington State.

The Pac 12 Men's Basketball tournament features all 12 teams in a single-elimination tournament, with the top four seeded teams, based on regular season record, receiving byes to the quarterfinals. The winner of the tournament receives the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Basketball Tournament. The Pac 12m, then known as the Pac 10, originally held the tournament between 1987 and 1990, after which time it was disbanded and the automatic bid was awarded to the regular season champion between 1991 and 2001. In 2002, the conference revived the tournament, with the 11 previous tournaments all being held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. Since its return in 2002, seven different teams have won tournament championships and only three teams (UCLA [2] and Stanford) have won the regular season and tournament championship in the same year.

As part of moving the tournament, the Pac 12 will also be hosting two doubleheaders at the venue on December 22 and December 23. Oregon State will take on San Diego in one of the games; the participants in the other three games are still to be determined.

- - - -